22 Years Old and Grateful

Today, I turned twenty-two and whilst I don’t celebrate birthdays I realise I have so much to be grateful for. So much that I complain about. So much that stresses me out. But again, so much to be grateful for.

I am a mother, a mother of two beautiful boys Alhamdulilah. Two beautiful boys that sometimes make me consider pulling all my hair out. Sometimes make me cry when I see the mess they leave in their wake. But mostly two beautiful boys who make me laugh, two beautiful boys who brighten up the room with their smile. Two beautiful boys who think I’m the best person in the world. There are so many people who would love to have kids but can’t unfortunately and here I am complaining?

I am student, a student who has now finished their first year of university Alhamdulilah. The same first year that kept me awake many nights. The same first year that felt like it would never end. But now it’s done, my first year has finished with a predicted first. There are so many people around the world that would kill for a chance to be a student but can’t for numerous reasons and here I am complaining?

I am muslim, a muslim who is looking forward for a chance to get closer to Allah during Ramadan Alhamdulilah. The same ramadan I worry about how I will cope with cooking and the children whilst fitting in some time to read Quran. But it’s the same ramadan that has been given as a blessing as it was prescribed to us and those before us. The same Ramadan that we have no guarantee to live and see.

I have a roof over my head, clothes on my back and food in my stomach, and most importantly I am alive. What more could I ask God for?

Sometimes in life we need to takes minute to appreciate what we have rather than looking at what we don’t have, and maybe then we’ll realise how fortunate we really are.

Love,

Tay.

2 thoughts on “22 Years Old and Grateful

  1. Happy birthday🎉🎉 young mom.May Allah always showers you and your family with His blessings.You are definitely a superwoman,able to do both of duty,as mom and student.Just wow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

