Struggles of Ramadan

Ramadan Mubarak, so we’re nearly a week in and I hope everyone’s fast is going well and May Allah accept them and all your duas, In Sha Allah.

For me Ramadan has been a struggle, I struggle with waking up at 6 in the morning with the kids. I struggle with running around with them on an empty stomach. I struggle to find the time or energy to do beloved acts like reading the Quran or islamic books. I struggle with having energy to make my Iftar but most of all I struggle with breaking my fast alone. It’s difficult after a full day of fasting, with the kids in bed, to sit down alone and eat. To go on snapchat and see everyone breaking their fasts with their families beside them.

Now don’t get me wrong I am not complaining, because after all, Allah tests us with different trials and difficulties. I am writing this because I can imagine that there are so many reverts around the world that go through this struggle. To sit alone, to feel alone in a religion that unites millions across the globe. I hope that for those of you who are fortunate to come from muslim families, if you know any reverts who may be spending Ramadan alone, why not invite them to share with you and your family.

The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “Whoever gives iftaar to one who is fasting will have a reward like his, without that detracting from the reward of the fasting person in the slightest.”

And to all my fellow reverts out there, keep going; this is your current test. Ramadan is not just about iftaar but rather take the time to reap the benefits. And most importantly, make dua for your families to be guided, In sha Allah, one day we will be able to break our fasts with those beloved to us.

Everyone struggles with Ramadan, in their own way. For some people they don’t feel hungry but thirsty and vice versa. For some people it’s guarding their tongues or eyes in this holy month. For some people it can be having to go to work in a job that drains your energy, makes it difficult to pray and throws numerous temptations your way. For some people it is the fact that there is no food to break their fasts, May Allah make it easy for us all.

Whatever your struggle is I hope you hold tight to your fast and your deen. The blessings of Ramadan are just for one month, so take advantage.

Love,

Tay.

2 thoughts on “Struggles of Ramadan

  1. I really feel sorry for you, I wish you in Kingdom will invite you with my family.

    Sorry if I may ask, where your husband?

    Pray in Ramadan, make small achieveable target. See what task you can skip. Divide in part, like I tell my wife, clean the home in parts rather all in one day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

